Yuki Onodera: Ethics in photography


The mysterious, surreal and original nature of Yuki Onodera’s work has often been noticed. I would like to highlight its ethical dimension, the powerful poetry which emanates from her photographs which is subordinate to her moral outlook for both technique and imagery, and how the way in which she articulates ethics and poetics can be used as a model for contemporary creation.

A crowd irradiated by a black sun. In her series How to Make a Pearl (2000-2001), the artist inserted a glass marble into her camera. When she clicks the shutter, the camera is unable to fully capture the scene and throws back the reflection of the tumor inside. By inserting a foreign object into the core of the camera, the artist violates the manner in which the device is supposed to function. If the camera was a text – and cameras are also texts – one could speak of interpolation. This disruption of the photographic process can be found in several other series: in Camera of course, with two lenses facing each other, but also in The Bee, Roma, Look Out the Window, as well as in her most recent work (Muybridge’s Twist) where she compiles pieces of images into compositions which exceed the size of the largest prints. This is what Onodera refers to as « counter-photography » (han-shashin) by which she discreetly associates herself to the counter-culture movement of the 1960s.

There are few examples of these series in the current exhibition as they have already been exhibited previously, however it is important to reference them as they provide the initial basis of Onodera’s work: the manner in which the camera is used must be challenged. Before any « perspective » on objects, before the « encounter » of any given subject, the desire to challenge the device by disrupting it, by « defying » it, is the first requirement for artistic creativity in photography. As a result, photography is not only the art of representation, it also provides the hint of a performance. It not only urges the viewer to see and to feel, but also to understand and redo. It suggests a certain connection to the technique, which passes through apprehension and intervention, far from the ergonomic and performance standards extolled by manufacturers.


In 1993, Onodera gathered second-hand clothes used by Boltanski for his installation Dispersion. They were then hung and photographed, producing one of her most well-known series, Portrait of Second-hand Clothes. Whereas Boltanski piled shapeless remains as a kind of requiem to human society, Onodera bring them up one by one, not to « breathe new life » into them but in order to focus for what they symbolize: a former owner, a generic body, a certain culture of clothing. This concern to restore the images « back on their feet » is recurring in the artist’s work. When advertising and a consumerist society lower them, she lifts them up again. In the series Transvest and PNI, the clippings of models from magazines are no longer advertising material but the human form of an opening towards complexity; in Eleventh Finger, the stolen image redeems its original act by a meticulous work of cutting; in Watch Your Joints!, the fleeting and vain gestures of football players on TV gain a grace of sorts.

A Japanese word conveys the action of putting emphasis on an image: mitate. The contemporary meaning of mitate indicates a work that refers to another, often in a parodic manner, however in this case it is not the intended meaning. The primary meaning of the verb mitateru means « look » (mi-) and « raise » something (tateru). In other words, to choose, or more precisely, to erect as a model. From this perspective, to create a mitate entails the recognition of the relative nature of art. We do not create anything ex nihilo and instead of pretending, the images we have chosen should be enriched, magnified, transformed. In Onodera’s work, there is a practical understanding of the beauty of shapes, which confronts the idealized approaches to art. It is not meant to be cynical; on the contrary, it is intended to restore the human outlook in an enlightened awareness. This is why there is no trace of a preconceived or artificial Japanese identity in her work, but an attention to detail and workmanship which reflects the true history of artistic practices on the archipelago.

Ethics of action and ethics of shapes. Denial of ostentatious postures and idealized traditions. This double movement – one positive, the other negative – opens the narrow path of a modernist poetry, both critical and non-violent, redeeming and inspirational. Onodera’s work has recently evolved towards a sort of photographic cubism, suggesting that this development is in part intentional. With no doubt, it is also the reflection of a political positioning at a time when the world, and East Asia in particular, are facing the rise of nationalism and the spectre of war.


Text : Michael Luken
Catalogue of solo show, Yuki Onodera, , Paris, 2017.

 

https://yukionodera.fr/en/publications/yuki-onodera-ethics-in-photography/trackback/ https://yukionodera.fr/en/publications/yuki-onodera-ethics-in-photography/
Paris

Onodera Yuki : pour une éthique photographique


Le caractère original, énigmatique, surréel de l’œuvre d’Onodera Yuki a souvent été remarqué. Je voudrais insister pour ma part sur sa dimension éthique, sur le fait que la poésie puissante qui se dégage de ses photographies est subordonné à un regard moral sur la technique et les images, que la façon dont elle articule l’éthique et le poétique peut servir de modèle à la création contemporaine.

Une foule irradiée par un soleil noir. Dans sa série How to Make a Pearl (2000-2001), l’artiste a inséré une bille en verre dans la chambre de l’appareil. Lorsqu’elle déclenche l’obturateur, l’appareil ne parvient pas à capter entièrement la scène extérieure et régurgite le reflet de la tumeur qui l’habite. En insérant un élément étranger dans le corps de l’appareil, l’artiste contrevient au programme de la machine. Si la caméra était un texte — et les caméras sont aussi des textes — on parlerait d’interpolation. Cette manière de perturber le processus d’enregistrement photographique se retrouve dans plusieurs autres séries : dans Camera bien sûr, construite à partir de deux objectifs face à face, mais aussi dans The Bee, Roma, Look Out the Window, ainsi que dans ses dernières œuvres (Muybridge’s Twist) où elle assemble des morceaux d’images en des compositions qui dépassent la taille des plus grands tirages. C’est ce qu’Onodera appelle la « contre-photographie » (han-shashin) par laquelle elle se rattache discrètement aux mouvements de contreculture des années 1960.

Ces séries sont peu représentées dans la présente exposition car elles ont déjà été beaucoup montrées. Mais il est important de les mentionner parce qu’elles dessinent la première ligne de fond du travail d’Onodera : le programme de l’appareil doit être mis à l’épreuve. Avant tout « regard » sur les choses, avant la « rencontre » d’un quelconque sujet, le souci de se confronter au programme de l’appareil en le perturbant, en le « défiant », est la condition première de la créativité artistique en photographie. Dès lors, la photographie n’est pas seulement un art de la représentation, elle fournit aussi la trace d’une performance. Elle enjoint le spectateur non seulement à voir et ressentir, mais aussi à comprendre et refaire. Elle propose un certain rapport à la technique, qui passe par l’inquiétude et l’intervention, loin du confort d’emploi et des performances vantés par les fabricants.


En 1993, Onodera a récupéré des habits usagés réunis par Boltanski pour son installation Dispersion. Puis elle les a suspendus et photographiés, donnant naissance à une de ses séries les plus connues, Portrait of Second-hand Clothes. Là où Boltanski entasse des dépouilles informes en une sorte de requiem de la société humaine, Onodera les relève une à une, non pas pour leur « redonner vie », mais par attention pour ce qu’elles symbolisent : un ancien propriétaire, un corps générique, une certaine culture du vêtement. Ce souci de remettre les images « sur les pieds » est constant dans l’œuvre de l’artiste. Là où la publicité et la société de consommation les abaissent, elle les redresse. Dans les séries Transvest et PNI, les mannequins coupés dans les journaux ne sont plus des supports commerciaux, mais la forme humaine d’une ouverture vers la complexité ; dans Eleventh Finger, la photo volée rachète son effraction originaire par un travail de découpe d’une infinie précision ; dans Watch Your Joints!, les gestes fugaces et vains des footballeurs à la télévision acquièrent une forme de grâce.

Un mot japonais évoque l’action de relever les images : mitate. Dans son acception contemporaine, un mitate désigne une œuvre qui fait référence à une autre, souvent de façon parodique. Ce n’est pas ce dont il s’agit ici. Dans son sens premier, le verbe mitateru veut dire « regarder » (mi-) et « lever » quelque chose (tateru). C’est-à-dire choisir ou, plus précisément encore, ériger en modèle. Sous cet angle, réaliser un mitate implique la reconnaissance du caractère relatif de l’art. On ne crée rien ex nihilo et, plutôt que de faire semblant, mieux vaut mettre en avant les images que l’on a repérées, les croiser et les enrichir, les magnifier et les transformer. Il y a chez Onodera une connaissance pratique de la beauté des formes, qui s’oppose aux approches idéalisantes de l’art. Rien de cynique. Au contraire, le choix de restaurer le regard humain dans une vigilance éclairée. C’est la raison pour laquelle il n’y a nulle trace dans son œuvre d’une japonité préconçue et artificielle, mais un souci du détail et de la finition qui s’inscrit dans l’histoire réelle des pratiques artistiques de l’Archipel.

Éthique de l’action et éthique des formes. Refus des postures grandiloquentes et des traditions idéalisées. Ce double mouvement, l’un positif, l’autre négatif, ouvre l’étroit chemin d’une poésie moderniste, à la fois critique et non violente, rédemptrice et inspirante. L’évolution récente de l’œuvre d’Onodera vers une forme de cubisme photographique suggère qu’il s’agit là d’un mouvement en partie conscient. Sans doute est-ce aussi le reflet d’un positionnement politique à une époque où le monde, et l’Asie de l’est en particulier, voient de nouveau poindre la montée des nationalismes et le spectre de la guerre.


Texte : Michael Luken
Catalogue de l‘exposition, Yuki Onodera, , Paris, 2017.

 

https://yukionodera.fr/fr/publications/yuki-onodera-ethics-in-photography/trackback/ https://yukionodera.fr/fr/publications/yuki-onodera-ethics-in-photography/
Paris