Musée Nicéphore Niépce 201606


The expert eye
Contemporary photography

June 18 – Sep 18 2016
opening reception:  Friday June 17, 19:00
Musée Nicéphore Niépce

28, Quai des Messagerie
71100 Chalon-sur-Saône

+ 33 [0] / tel
+ 33 [0] / fax

Ziad Antar, Patrick Bailly-Maître-Grand, Roger Ballen, John Batho, Mathieu Bernard-Reymond, Jean-Christian Bourcart, Bruno Boudjelal, Elina Brotherus, François Burgun, Robert Burley, Michel Campeau, Natasha Caruana, Alexandra Catiere, Claire Chevrier, Gérard Collin-Thiébaut, Kathryn Cook, Alexis Cordesse, Olivier Culmann, Antoine d’Agata, Raphaël Dallaporta, Denis Darzacq, Morgane Denzler, Michaël Durand, JH Engström, Jean-Louis Faure, Maia Flore, Charles Fréger, Marion Gronier, Stan Guigui, Noël Jabbour, Peter Knapp, Jean Le Gac, Laurence Leblanc, Ange Leccia, Mac Adams, Virginie Marnat-Leempoels, Guillaume Martial, Serguey Maximishin, Mazaccio & Drowilal, André Mérian, Bertrand Meunier, Laurent Millet, Christian Milovanoff, Jean-Luc Moulène, Yuki Onodera, Dominique Pasqualini, Mathieu Pernot, Gerald Petit, Philippe Pétremant, Walid Raad et Akram Zaatari, Lola Reboud, Lise Sarfati, Malick Sidibé, Klavdij Sluban, Patrick Tosani, Patrick Zachmann.

The idea behind this exhibition is to get back to the musée Nicéphore Niépce’s original policy with regard to contemporary photography that takes a stand against the art market and its institutionalisation, refusing to double the collections constituted by other museums. The museum’s choices include support for French and international new work, artist in residence programmes, the constitution of a collection of pieces that manage to give a complete vision of the career of a given artist and producing prints under the supervision of the photographers. This has opened the museum’s collections up to a reflection on the world and the photographic medium as a whole through the expert eye of the artist.

Comments are closed.